Impossible Foods “Social Good” Programm

Ernährung



Bekämpfung der lebensbedrohlichen Hungerkrise in den Vereinigten Staaten.


Project Facts

Standort
Vereinigte Staaten

Projektvolumen
500.000-1 Mio. EUR

Finanzierung
Sonstige

Projektzeitraum
Start: 2018
In Betrieb seit/ab: 2018

Die Story

Das "Social Good"-Programm von Impossible Foods beinhaltet Produktspenden und ein Bewusstseinsbildungsprogramm, das darauf abzielt, für Ernährungssicherheit und soziale Gerechtigkeit zu sorgen und den Zugang zu gutem, nahrhaftem Essen für alle zu verbessern.

In Amerika leidet durchschnittlich eines von sieben Kinder an Ernährungsunsicherheit. COVID-19 hat diese Tragödie in eine akute Krise verwandelt. Die Arbeitslosigkeit ist so hoch wie seit der Großen Depression nicht mehr, und weit verbreitete Schulschließungen haben dazu geführt, dass es für viele Kinder keine bezahlbaren Mahlzeiten mehr gibt. Heute leidet jeder fünfte Haushalt in den USA an Ernährungsunsicherheit. Sowohl Umweltprobleme als auch Hunger betreffen überproportional viele farbige Menschen, was die öffentliche Gesundheitskrise noch verschlimmert. Die Ziele von Impossible Foods' Social Good Programm sind:

Direkte Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln, insbesondere von farbigen Bevölkerungsgruppen, Sensibilisierung für die Themen Hunger und soziale Gerechtigkeit und ein Beitrag zu einem gerechteren, inklusiveren und nachhaltigen Lebensmittelsystem zu leisten.

Erfolgsfaktor | Hero Moment

Impossible Foods begann 2018, pflanzliche Fleischersatzprodukte an Lebensmitteltafeln zu spenden. Als die COVID-19 Pandemie im März ausbrach, begann das Unternehmen im Frühjahr Impossible Burger zu spenden, um die von der Pandemie am stärksten betroffenen Gemeinden zu unterstützen. Im Dezember 2020 spendete Impossible Foods seinen millionsten Impossible Burger. Das Programm wird weiter ausgeweitet.

Einreicher
Impossible Foods, Vereinigte Staaten

Weitere involvierte Stakeholder
No Kid Hungry, Colin Kaepernick’s Know Your Rights Camp, Isaac Rochell’s Local Human, Black Lives Matter of Greater New York, Rethink Food, SodexoMAGIC, Feeding America, Alameda County Community Food Bank, The Pinky Cole Foundation, Careers for Culinary Arts Program, Rethink Food, The Lower Eastside Girls Club, Support + Feed, Second Harves

Kontakt
pr@impossiblefoods.com

Website
www.impossiblefoods.com/

Keywords
Bewusstseinsbildung, plant-based

Vermiedene Emissionen
3.073 Tonnen CO2e pro Jahr

Vergleichbar mit der jährlichen Kohlenstoffaufnahme von
24.584 Bäumen

Hard Facts
1.000.000 Menschen profitieren direkt

Impossible Foods “Social Good” Program

Food



Addressing the life-threatening hunger crisis in the United States.


Project Facts

Location
United States

Project Volume
500.000-1 Mio. EUR

Applied Financing Solutions
Other

Project Dates
Start: 2018
In operation since/from: 2018

The Story

Impossible Foods’ mission is to make the global food system sustainable and that means working towards a more equitable food system in the short term. Impossible Foods’ “Social Good” program is a product donation and awareness program aimed at fighting for food security and social justice, and increasing access to delicious, nutritious food for all.

In good times, one in seven children in America suffers from food insecurity. COVID-19 turned this tragedy into an acute crisis, with unemployment levels not seen since the Great Depression and widespread school closures that have eliminated affordable meals for kids. Today, one in five US homes are experiencing hunger. Both environmental issues and hunger disproportionately affect people of color, exacerbating the public health crisis. The goals of Impossible Foods’ Social Good program are to:

Directly feed food insecure populations, specifically prioritizing communities of color. Raise awareness around hunger and social justice issues. Contribute to a more equitable and inclusive food system, on the road to a more sustainable one.

Success Factor | Hero Moment

Impossible Foods began donating plant-based meat to food banks in 2018. When the COVID-19 pandemic hit in March, the company began donating on average 10,000 pounds of plant-based Impossible Burger per week during the spring and early summer to support communities most affected by the pandemic. In December 2020, Impossible Foods donated its millionth Impossible Burger. The program will continue to expand.

Submitter
Impossible Foods, United States

Other Involved Stakeholders
No Kid Hungry, Colin Kaepernick’s Know Your Rights Camp, Isaac Rochell’s Local Human, Black Lives Matter of Greater New York, Rethink Food, SodexoMAGIC, Feeding America, Alameda County Community Food Bank, The Pinky Cole Foundation, Careers for Culinary Arts Program, Rethink Food, The Lower Eastside Girls Club, Support + Feed, Second Harvest

Contact Mail
pr@impossiblefoods.com

Website
www.impossiblefoods.com/

Keywords
Awareness Raising, plant-based

Terminated Emissions
3.073 tons CO2e per year

Comparable to the annual CO2 absorption of
24.584 trees

Hard Facts
1.000.000 people are benefitting directly